Week 37: Swiss Chard Nothingness

swiss_chard

Merry Christmas, dear friends and family!  I hope you all had a wonderful holiday full of joy, togetherness, good food, and thoughtful gifts.  We surely did.  Lentil is the most spoiled still-in-utero baby I know (crazy family of mine) and I feel a sense of calm and peace right now knowing that I am on maternity leave as of Christmas Eve and have the next ??? days ahead of me to get his little world ready here before he makes his debut.  Never have I so looked forward to a week (or weeks, fingers crossed) of staying home with no plans other than to clean the house, arrange things in the nursery, cook and freeze some hearty winter meals, and enjoy the last moments of tranquility before our world is changed forever 🙂

Shout-out to family friends, the Hoffmans and the Kohns, for a great Christmas Eve gathering; the Lease/Clarke and Fisher/Siegert/Green clans for Christmas merriment, and Shane’s college friends, who we will see today for lunch.  And I look forward to an epic Facetime session tonight with the Fisher gang in New York, where I am counting on Laura to rig the iPad up (possibly hanging in the branches of the Christmas tree) so we can minimize FOMO and watch the gift exchange up there.  I have never missed a Christmas New York trip before except due to illness or excessive snow; good thing I like this baby so much or else I would really be bummed out.

Swiss Chard

Sad to report that there was no Swiss chard cooked at the Lease house this week.  There were plenty of other things made (mostly involving sugar) but I had an absurd amount of difficulty finding Swiss chard in the days leading up to Christmas.  Visited two grocery stores on Monday and Tuesday, which both do not carry it, and then on my last attempt (at 9:00 pm on Wednesday night, as I trudged through the store having Braxton-Hicks contractions and seriously considering using one of those motorized scooters), they did have chard but it looked like this:

sad swiss chard
SAD CHARD

Wilted and pathetic.  Time is money, people, and with Christmas looming ahead, there was no time to be wasted on such veggies.

With that being said, I am moving on to the next vegetable (leek!), but I will leave you with some yummy-looking recipes for next summer’s delectable chard bounty:

Sauteed Swiss Chard with Ricotta and Marjoram Medallions

Swiss Chard and Zucchini Enchiladas

Bread Soup with Onions, Chard, and Mushrooms

 

Leave a Reply

