Week 34: Cantaloupe Agua Fresca

cantaloupe

This week was the week that I realized that I didn’t exactly know how to spell “cantaloupe,” so, overall, a TERRIBLE week.

Additionally, my buddy continues to make his presence known, often in a less-than-pleasant way, so these recipes continue to get significantly less complicated.  I also wasn’t feeling very inspired by cantaloupe recipes, since there aren’t that many interesting ones that I found (does cantaloupe pie sound good to anyone?) and with melons not being in season, I didn’t want to make anything that really relied on the deliciousness of the fruit itself just in case I got a bum hothouse melon.  Therefore, I found the easiest-looking recipe that also looked like it could be tasty.  Unfortunately, (*spoiler alert*) it wasn’t, but thankfully, I could drown my sorrows in the gallons of fresh-squeezed lemonade left for me by the hostesses with the mostest of my shower last week.  It has been a fantastic week of eating lots of leftovers, including cake and Oreo truffles, and not having to grocery shop at all (SCORE).  So, thanks, everyone!

Lentil was the weight of a cantaloupe this week and continues to grow like a champ.  Can’t believe he’ll be here next month!

Cantaloupe Agua Fresca

cantaloupe agua fresca.jpg

The Verdict:

Difficulty: Mind-numbingly easy, especially when your sister chops the cantaloupe for you.  Put it in the blender, add water and sugar, pulse.  Monkey-level easy.

Taste: Meh.  Right after this picture was taken, it started to separate into a clear liquid at the bottom and thick, chunky goo at the the top.  Despite what should have been sufficient blending, it never achieved a smooth consistency.  I ended up spooning the top layer into the trash and drinking the bottom, but it still wasn’t very satisfying.

Annoyance level: Medium-high.  I became a big fan of agua fresca in Costa Rice so this was a disappointment.  Oh well! Onto the next recipe ASAP.

Cantaloupey goodness (maybe):

Chilled Cantaloupe Soup

Cantaloupe Coconut Lassi

One thought on “Week 34: Cantaloupe Agua Fresca

Leave a Reply

