Week 32: Strawberry Mango Jicama Salad

Yam Bean

Lentil is now the weight of a jicama!  Well, actually, he is a little larger, since he weighed in at a hefty 4 lb 6 oz as of our last ultrasound (apparently jicamas weigh around 3 3/4 lbs, according to my baby app).  Little guy continues to thrive and is becoming more of a parasite every day: he’s doing great, and I’m quickly declining in functioning.  Good excuse to get people to pamper me over the next eight weeks!

Speaking of pampering, I had a lovely shower thrown for me on Friday by some of my dearest girlfriends, a few of whom then treated me to a pedicure on Saturday (thanks, all of you awesome ladies!) and we all got massages.  So basically, I was loving life, and even the elbow-throwing of my tiny passenger couldn’t keep me down.  Add an overnight stay at Krystle’s cabin-in-law (too nice to be called a cabin…what is the “glamping” version of cabin? “Glabin”?) and I was ready to relax forever.  But it was back to work on Monday, le sigh.  At least Thanksgiving is right around the corner!

Additional thanks to the family members who showered me two weekends ago 🙂  So much cute baby stuff, I love it!  We Leases are very lucky to have such quality people in our lives.  And speaking of quality, shout-out to my doll of a husband who surprised me when I got home from work today by showing me that he had assembled the crib and rocker in the nursery.  You are Lentil’s favorite dad ever, Shane!

Strawberry Mango Jicama Salad

strawberry jicama

The Verdict:

Difficulty: Very easy; just some chopping and throwing in a bowl and voila!

Taste: Sweet and tropical and just what I needed (been feeling fruit-deprived and haven’t had much energy to prep healthy meals the way I usually try to).  Could have used more mango but the one I bought had some weird brown spots I had to cut out and toss.  The jicama added a nice contrasting texture to the softness of the fruit.

Modifications: Tossed in some lime zest just for the heck of it because, why not? (master tip: whenever you have limes or lemons for a recipe, zest them first and freeze the zest in a ziploc bag; great to have on hand to throw in when you’re cooking!)

More seasonally-appropriate jicama recipes:

Braised Pork Belly Tacos with Watermelon, Jicama, and Jalapeno Salsa

Avocado, Orange, and Jicama Salad

One thought on “Week 32: Strawberry Mango Jicama Salad

Leave a Reply

