Week 28: Spicy Chipotle Eggplant with Black Beans

eggplantFear not, friends! I have not gone AWOL (well, not forever, anyway).  The big move was two weekends ago and then Shane and I traveled to Indianapolis this past weekend for the wedding of our friends Brandon and Shanna (great party! Congrats, guys!).  Between having everything in a million boxes everywhere and my stress level, I have not cooked in weeks; probably since the last blog post.  Now, we are finally settling in and finding things among the chaos, so I was able to make an eggplant dish for my little buddy.

Spicy Chipotle Eggplant with Black Beans

chipotle eggplant

The Verdict:

Difficulty: Moderate.  Many steps that need to be completed in a specific order; also, the use of a blender (I used an immersion blender) is needed, which always makes things more complicated.

Taste: Sooooo….you may be thinking, “A recipe with ‘spicy’ in the title?!  That doesn’t sound like something Jenny would make!”  And of course, you would be right.  I’m not really sure why I thought I would be able to handle this, although I will say that the taste was very good; it was just too hot for me to really appreciate.  A quote from Shane, to put things in perspective: (concerned look on his face after we had both taken our first bite) “What are you going to eat?”

Modifications: The sad part is, I had already cut the amount of chipotle peppers in half (recipe called for 2 cans and I used one) and it was STILL too spicy!  I blame my parents, for not exposing me to enough spice as a child.  And now, Lentil will have me to blame for the same thing; I’ll have to ship him off to friends’ houses to get his fix.

Accidental modifications: Distracted by my darling husband returning from work, I failed to garnish with the Greek yogurt and cilantro and did not realize this until I had two bites left.  Those definitely enhanced the flavor, though!

As a passionate eggplant lover, I will definitely be making these at some point:

Eggplant “Meatballs” in Tomato Sauce

Eggplant and Aubergine Tart

And a bonus (shout-out to finally having a grill!):

Eggplant Caviar on Grilled Bread

Leave a Reply

