Week 26: Caramel-Cooked Cod (with scallions!)

green onionScallions!! Hated them as a kid but now I love them so much.  GIVE ME ALL THE SCALLIONS!! Soooo flavorful…

By the way: full disclosure, I actually cooked this recipe weeks ago but saved the post for this week, knowing that it would be right before we moved and I would be extremely busy.

That’s right!  The Lease Family is moving to Columbia next week, to our new house that we had to buy to make room for all of the baby clothes I’ve been collecting.  I tried to convince Shane that we could stay in Silver Spring forever and turn our closet into Lentil’s room, but he nixed that idea.  As you can probably tell, as excited as I am about the house, I am feeling sad about leaving the apartment that has been our wonderful home for the past five years and particularly about leaving Silver Spring.  I really love it here: being in walking distance of a bustling urban area and the Metro, able to breeze into D.C. at a moment’s notice; the diversity and liveliness and how there is always some event or concert or something interesting to do; being minutes away from Laura and Matt and other nearby friends.  I know we will love Columbia, but I will miss what we’ve had, especially since it goes hand-in-hand with transitioning to the less footloose and fancy-free type of existence that is the reality of having kids.  Change is hard, people!!

Time to drown my sorrows in cod…

Caramel-Cooked Cod

caramel codThe Verdict:

Difficulty: Moderate.  Lots going on at once here: definitely a recipe that needs your full time and attention.  This is especially true for me, as I am a paranoid broiler and obsessively check to make sure whatever’s in there isn’t burning.

Taste: This was really good!  Very flavorful, between the sweetness of the caramel, the umami of the fish sauce, and good ol’ cilantro.  Cod is pretty bland, IMHO, so this preparation gave it a lot more life.

Notes: I needed to add a lot more water than called for in order for the caramel sauce to develop.  If I remember correctly, I ended up adding more sugar to try to keep it as close as possible to the original recipe (after the sauce took on a more desirable consistency).

Cuteness Award goes to: James Welter, my friend Megan’s son, who stopped at this picture while scrolling through the photos on my phone, looked at me quizzically, and said, “That’s your dinner?”  It is, buddy.  And I know that it seems odd to you that my phone is 99% full of pictures of food, side-angle baby-belly pics, and screen shots of random memes I find funny.  It’ll make more sense when you’re 30, I promise. (Probably)

Got some extra scallions? Try:

Korean Scallion Pancake (Shout-out to JKatz)

Cheddar Scallion Dip

One thought on “Week 26: Caramel-Cooked Cod (with scallions!)

  1. Change is hard! But good! Better to have silver springed and moved than never to have silver springed at all. (Auto-correct really resisted that word!!!)

    Scallions seem smaller than rutabaga. Is that just because I’m not familiar? I can do better. I usually ignore the part of recipes that call for scallions as a garnish, but I can do better!

    Xoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

