Week 23: Mango Shrimp Summer Rolls with Peanut Dipping Sauce

MangoBaby Lentil is getting big!  I paused for a minute while holding the mango for this recipe and thought, “Wow!  This is how much my little guy weighs.”  I love this whole comparable fruit/vegetable thing (obviously).  Such a cool way of making the baby real!  (As if I would have any doubts, with all of the kick-boxing and somersaults that are going on in there.  Either this baby is going to be an athlete extraordinaire or he’s very upset with me about something).

This recipe gave me an excuse to make something that I’ve done before, but with a twist.  It’s fun to make summer rolls (almost as much fun as eating them) and I always feel really good about myself when I eat them, with all the veggies and herbs stuffed in there.  Past times that I’ve made them, they’ve included lots of different veggies and shrimp, but I had never thought of adding a fruit until I saw this recipe online.

Mango Shrimp Summer Rolls with Peanut Dipping Sauce

mango summer rollA thing of beauty!

The Verdict:

Difficulty: Takes a few wraps to get the hang of exactly how to soak/roll each one but once it clicks, it’s pretty easy, just very labor-intensive.  The whole recipe is labor-intensive, with lots of chopping veggies, but if you’re like me, you might find the chopping a bit therapeutic.

Taste: These were great!  Fresh, crunchy, with a hint of sweetness from the mango: flavor explosion time.

Modifications: The recipe called for a different sauce but I chose to pair the rolls with this peanut sauce that I saw on another website.  It was a terrific decision, if I do say so myself.  I could have licked the bowl of peanut sauce clean, if there had been any left over.  Also, I didn’t bother adding the vinegar and sugar to the rice noodles, and I didn’t find any dearth of flavor.

Side note: I swear it’s a coincidence that pretty much all of my recipes have gotten such rave reviews from me in these blog posts!  Actually, it’s not really a coincidence, since I carefully choose recipes that look amazing, are from trusted sources, and often get good reviews.  So, not a coincidence at all…this blog is officially rigged.

Side side note: Belly!

23 weeksSome other potential mango deliciousness:

Mango Sticky Rice (or, if you’re feeling lazy, just go to Thai Xing and let them make it for you; you won’t regret it)

Mango Lassi Frozen Yogurt (whoever makes me this first gets to name Lentil)

One thought on “Week 23: Mango Shrimp Summer Rolls with Peanut Dipping Sauce

Leave a Reply

