Week 22: Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Casserole

spaghetti-squashThis week’s vegetable gave me a great excuse to go to the Dutch Country Farmer’s Market in Laurel, since my local grocery store does not yet have spaghetti squashes in stock and those lovely Amish folk do.  Baby Lentil has been requesting frequent purchases of Sour Rainbow Belts (gummy candy), which can be found in the bulk candy stand there, and I lack the self-control required to leave the premises without a soft pretzel stick from the pretzel stand, so it was a productive visit.

I enjoyed this week because it encouraged me to get out of my comfort zone a bit; my default preparation of spaghetti squash is to top it with marinara sauce and meatballs or to use it in place of spaghetti for a quick carbonara side with Parmigiano Reggiano cheese, olive oil, and lots of pepper.  I found a few more adventurous recipes, including the tacos (link at the bottom) that I intended to make, but I ended up doing the casserole you’ll see below because this was a hard weekend for me, health-wise, and I wasn’t feeling up to a more complicated cooking session (nothing too serious, just pregnancy-related fatigue and growing pains, I suppose).  However, I have half of a squash left over, so hopefully I will test that recipe out sometime soon!

Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Casserole

squash casseroleSad picture of leftovers because I forgot to take a picture after making

The Verdict:

Difficulty: Nice and easy!…hence the reason I made it.  Hardest part: cutting a spaghetti squash in half (not a job for children, or adults with shaky hands).

Taste:  Shane loved it, I thought the flavor was too strong; next time, I would cut down on the seasoning a bit.

Tip: Whenever I cook spaghetti squash, I cut it in half length-wise, scoop out the seeds and guts, place one half cut-side down in a microwaveable glass container, add about 1/4” of water, and cover and seal tightly with plastic wrap.  Microwave for 13 minutes and the squash will steam in the little bubble you created for it (careful when you pull off the plastic wrap because a burst of very hot steam will escape!).  This is wayyy easier and quicker than baking it.

For another day:

Spaghetti Squash Pomegranate Goat Cheese Salad

Vegetarian Spaghetti Squash Tacos

One thought on “Week 22: Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Casserole

Leave a Reply

