Week 18: Stuffed Peppers

Yellow-Bell-PeppersGet excited, readers: you’re in for a treat today.  I found this version of stuffed peppers on one of my favorite food blogs, Pinch of Yum, and have been waiting to make it for Bell Pepper Week.  Shane was initially skeptical, as he is about any meal that doesn’t involve meat, but I won him over by pointing out how hearty it would be (one pepper each was enough to fill us)and how chock-full of protein and healthy, too.*

*Note: as mentioned in an earlier post, I have a conflicted history with beans.  I just want you to take a moment and recognize me for how far I have come, Mom; I made a recipe that calls for not one but TWO KINDS of beans and it was delicious.  True growth right here.

Quinoa Black Bean Crockpot Stuffed Peppers

stuffed pepperThe Verdict:

Difficulty: Moderate.  Mostly, it’s a bit tricky to cut the ribs out of a bell pepper by reaching into it (at least for me!).  Also, I had to grate the cheese, since they didn’t have pre-grated pepper jack at the grocery store (although, in case you didn’t know, grating your own cheese is better for recipes that require the cheese to melt, as pre-grated cheese is coated with starch so the shreds don’t melt before it makes its way into your cooking).  Really, it wasn’t very difficult at all, I just realized that almost all of my recipes so far have been “easy” so I am trying to impress you by acting like this one was harder.

Taste: YUM! Rated highly by my test subjects, Shane and Laura.  The taste of the filling was good and the add-ons really took it up a notch (we used cilantro, avocado, and sour cream, although you could sub Greek yogurt if you were trying to cut a bit of fat.  But remember, your body needs dairy with some fat in it so it can absorb the nutrients! Don’t drink skim milk!)

Modifications: I used five bell peppers instead of the six called for by the recipe because one of the ones I had looked a little moldy inside.  However, there was exactly enough filling for 5, since my peppers were pretty large.  Also, I used double the chili powder because I was out of cumin (chili powder is largely cumin anyway).

Other bell pepper ideas:

Steak Fajita Stuffed Baked Potatoes with Avocado Chipotle Crema (these look AMAZING)

Stuffed Pepper Soup

Leave a Reply

